Hope you don’t mind quotes again. My siblings — especially one or two — are constantly running at the mouth, so I have a good supply. The problem is mostly that I don’t write them down in time, so I don’t remember them when the times comes to write them here. But here are the ones that I DID remember to write.

~<>~

Toaster pops
Riley: “Oh good! My toast hatched!”

~<>~

Mom: “Henry’s a pretty laid-back baby.”
Riley: “I think he’s actually sitting up right now.”

~<>~

Riley: “I think Brady has chicken pox on his forehead.”
Me: “No, those are zits.”
Riley: “…oh…”

~<>~

Colby: “I have some gum that I’m going to take to church so that I can eat it later.”
Riley: “You’d better carry it concealed, because otherwise people might want to eat it.”
(Who ever heard of conceal-carrying gum???)

~<>~

Riley: *holds up wooden sword* “God’s word had better be sharper than THIS two-edged sword!”

~<>~

Riley, talking to Mom after hearing a hymn being sung at church: “So, Mom, explain to me why there is a bomb in Gilead.”

We had sung “There is a Balm in Gilead”…balm, bomb, pretty close. Pretty close sounding, I mean, not that they’re pretty close to meaning the same thing…

There is a bomb in Gilead
to make the wounded whole,
there is a bomb in Gilead
to heal the sin-sick soul.

Uh…no, that doesn’t quite go.

~<>~

Before the conversation below took place, Mom had been explaining to Riley about repeating decimals, and how you put a line over the top of a repeating decimal (in this case, it was 0.333333…) so that it doesn’t have to go on and on and on. Colby had apparently overheard the conversation…

Mom: “Colby, I really wish you wouldn’t fight so much!”

Colby: “You mean you don’t want me to fight the like the line over the 3…forever and ever.”

~<>~

Recently Mom found one of her old journals that she kept when the oldest four kids were young. We found some funny quotes in there, too, and I thought I’d put them here.

Here is a small portion that Mom wrote about Brady, the day of his third birthday:
I got him up and dressed him in some new denim shorts and told him he could wear new shorts for his birthday. “Actually jeans,” he said since they were denim.

~<>~

Then, another one about yours truly.
Katie said something funny the other day — at a traffic light a car next to us was playing loud evil sounding music. Katie said, “Mommy, is that music Satan singing?”

~<>~

A couple of days ago Brady made us laugh. I told him I was going to throw away his ocean sandals now that summer is over because they won’t fit him next year. Also they are ripped and in very bad shape. He was horrified at the idea of parting with the shoes and started crying loudly. I asked him what on earth was wrong and he told me that he wanted to keep the shoes so that when he was lonely and didn’t have any friends, the shoes could comfort him. =) 

~<>~

6/14/10
Riley – “I am the one who has been going around telling lies. I’ve wrecked God’s commandments.”

Colby [to Craig] – “I need to tell you something. Hi, Dad.”

~<>~

9/11/10
This was our first week of school. On his 1st day of kindergarten I was helping Riley write his name (his first time using lower case letters and 3 lines). He was alarmed when he saw where the “y” was supposed to be placed and complained that it looked like the “y” was choking. The next day I asked him how the “y” was doing and if it was choking. He said, “No, it’s gotten used to it.”

~<>~

(Also on 9/11/10, when Colby was only 2 years old)
Colby surprised us when Brittany asked him to throw a broken pen in the trash. He said, “No, no, no! It goes in THIS location.”
Colby said so many big words when he was still really little! So cute! 😉

~<>~

10/4/10
According to Riley, “r” s the letter that has a branch hanging down that looks like it is rotten.”

~<>~

Now that, I suppose, is why it’s good to keep a journal…something that I am terrible at. But who knows…maybe I should start trying. I’m almost tempted.

