I can write a lot about nothing.

In fact, writing about random nothingness is what I do best!

I like writing when I have a goal in mind. But I like writing even more when I can just sit down and ramble on about everything on the face of the earth, which, when I’m finished, usually amounts to just about nothing.

Once in my Life-Pac test I was told to “choose a topic of interest and write a paragraph, using verbals and appositives to make your writing lively. Make sure each sentence has at least one verbal or appositive. Give your paragraph to a friend and have the friend underline all the verbals.”

(And blah, blah, blah.)

That was one of my favorite Life-Pac writing assignments ever.

A topic of interest?

Hmm.

That could turn out to be very interesting.

Looking back on the paragraph I wrote, I wonder how on earth it passed. I sort of wrote about nothing, like I’m doing now.

The paragraph ended up like this…

The ability to write stories comes naturally to me, but writing one dinky little paragraph about nothing does not appeal to me in the least. There is always more to be said on a topic of interest than can be concluded in the three to five sentences that will make up this paragraph. Writing is my topic of interest, and more could willingly be stated on such a subject, but alas, I am running out of appositives and verbals with which to construct my sentences.

Writing is my topic of interest? Yes.

(Writing one little dinky paragraph about nothing does NOT appeal to me, but writing a whole blog post about that same subject — or lack thereof — does.)

Speaking of nothing much, I also enjoy arguing lost causes.

I like making a futile argument suddenly sound more convincing than it was a minute ago. Like the time I convinced Colby that our hair went into our heads and came out as eyebrows and eyelashes on our faces. He actually believed me for a couple of seconds. Until Brady told him that I was just kidding.

And speaking again of nothing, I must really be doing a good job at writing about nothing. So far I’ve written the word “nothing” ten times.

One of my favorite quotes about nothing is from our good friend, Winnie-the-Pooh…

Christopher Robin: What I like doing best is Nothing.
Winnie-the-Pooh: How do you do Nothing?
Christopher Robin: Well, it’s when people call out at you just as you’re going off to do it, “What are you going to do, Christopher Robin?” and you say, “Oh, nothing,” and then you go and do it.
Winnie-the-Pooh: Oh, I see.
Christopher Robin: This is a nothing sort of thing that we’re doing right now.
Winnie-the-Pooh: Oh, I see.
Christopher Robin: It means just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear and not bothering.
Winnie-the-Pooh: Oh!

Or how about this one…

Winnie-the-Pooh: Some people say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.

Now, I’m not saying that doing nothing is a good thing to do, but it’s a neat quote anyways. 🙂

Speaking, thinking, and writing of nothing…have you ever tried to do nothing or to think of nothing? It doesn’t work.

Once I was lying in my bed at night, staring up at the little glow stars on my ceiling, and trying to not think. Pretty soon I got to thinking about thinking. And when I tried to make myself stop thinking again, I got to thinking about how impossible it is to stop thinking.

Sometimes I just happen to be sitting on the couch staring off into space, and one of my siblings comes in the room and asks me what I’m doing. Usually I say, “Nothing,” and they inform me that of course I’m doing something…I’m sitting, I’m blinking, I’m yawning, I’m most likely thinking, and I’m most certainly breathing. And it’s true.

Someone named Oscar Wilde (I have no idea who he is) said something like, “To do nothing is the most difficult thing in the world, the most difficult and the most intellectual.” (He’s also the one that said, “I love talking about nothing…it’s the only thing I know anything about.” I do have to say that I don’t agree with many of his quotes, but some of them are pretty hilarious, like this for instance: “People who count their chickens before they are hatched act very wisely, because chickens run about so absurdly that it is impossible to count them accurately.” Hehehe.)

I said before that I like writing when I can sit down and ramble on about everything on the face of the earth, which, when I’m finished, usually amounts to just about nothing.

Funny.

When I sit down and write about nothing — as opposed to everything on the face of the earth — I end up writing about a lot of things…even if those things don’t end up being too deeply inspiring.

Okay, so I cheated a little. When I sat down to write this post, I did have one teeny-weeny goal in mind, and that was to see how many words I could write about nothing.

So, there you have nothing.

At the bottom of the page where I write the drafts for my blog posts, there are two inspiring words that WordPress sends to all its users:

“Just Write.”

So I did.

