…and waiting. And waiting. And waiting.

[Oh, and did I mention waiting?]

It seems like days have gone by, and yet we still have to wait. It feels like it’s taking FOREVER! We were all hoping the waiting would end a week ago, and — lo and behold — I’m still sitting here waiting…

Oh, hello there! I’m sorry, but I do have a dreadful habit of talking to myself. If you heard me saying something when you came up just now, it was probably something about waiting.

You did hear that? Well, I suppose you couldn’t have missed it. And…oh, what was that? You want to know what I am waiting for?

I see.

Well, I’m not sure if you realized this, but there is going to be a new member in our family very soon.

You did know that?

Well, did you know that it will be the tie-breaker in our family of three girls and three boys? If it is a girl, we will have four girls and three boys. If it is a boy, we will have four boys and three girls.

And…oh, what was that? I’m sorry; my ears must be plugged today…could you say that a little louder?

Oh! I see now. You want to know if we have names picked out yet. Well, as a matter of fact, we have a few choices, but you don’t get to find out what any of them are until after the baby is born. I’ll post his/her name on my blog in BIG, unmistakable letters so that you’ll be sure not to miss it.

Speaking of which…oh, excuse me… Did you want to ask another question? You want to know why I haven’t been posting on my blog much lately? To tell you the truth, it’s the baby’s fault for not being born. I’ve been putting off blogging in hopes that this little one will hurry up and show his/her face. I was looking forward to writing a big, long letter about how cute my new little sibling is, and how pretty his/her eyes are. But I can’t really do any of that until it is born, now can I? So I decided, instead, to write you a quick note to explain how sorry I am that I haven’t been keeping in touch with you lately, and that I will try to do better in the future.

And by the way…oh, sorry, what was that? (Really, I thought your mother taught you better manners than to keep interrupting.) Oh…ahem…my, but we do change subjects awfully fast, now don’t we? Now you want to know why I’m tapping my foot? It’s because I have a John Williams CD playing in the background. It’s rather hard to sit still with any of his music. I’m I bothering you when I tap? No? Well, I’ll keep tapping then, if you don’t mind.

Anyways, is it all right with you if we stay on the main subject after this? Our roundabout conversation is making my head spin.

Oh, but what was the main subject?

Ah, yes, now I remember. The baby.

As I said before, it is hard to wait. I’ve heard my brothers and sisters remark “I can’t wait!” several times, and I suppose I’ve said it a few times as well. But I guess we don’t have much choice in the matter, now do we?

We all hope that the baby is born soon, but it will be rather…unreal when it is. In a good way, of course. But it will be strange for the younger boys who will have to keep their Legos and small toys off the floor; and for me, because I will have to get my piano practice done when the baby is awake; and for the violinists who will also have to fit their practicing in when the baby isn’t napping. And for all of us who will be kept awake at night because of the crying.

But it will be absolutely amazing in an amazing way. To see this tiny, complex person grow up and learn new things; to watch as the first words are formed on those tiny lips; to see the first wobbly steps; to laugh at the surprised face as the little one tastes the very first bite of ice cream…

It will be amazing in every way, and…

*sigh* No, I don’t mind if you interrupt one more time. I have to go soon anyway. What was it you were going to say? And if you were going to ask when this post is going to be finished and you can go away, don’t even say it!

Oh.

I see.

That is what you were going to say. Well, I guess I’ll answer your question. I’m finished now. And I did enjoy our conversation, roundabout though it was.

Goodbye for now!

Oh, and P.S. …I will try to do better about posting from now on. But if I do, you have to promise not to fall asleep on the write-about-nothing-just-so-I-can-say-something posts.

And one last P.S. …I’ll write again when the baby is born. You won’t fall asleep on that post. Guaranteed.

