Yesterday we had the rare pleasure of seeing and holding two baby raccoons. I don’t know how many of you out there have had two small, fuzzy coons fall asleep in your lap for a 30 minute nap.

I have.

I’d never actually touched a raccoon before yesterday. I have viewed the animals from afar, but have never gotten close. And I don’t think I would have wanted to touch a grown one, anyway. But the babies were absolutely adorable, and their claws didn’t hurt, even though they gave some pretty good-lookin’ scratches.

Our friends — Gabe and Zach Honken — brought them over for us to see. Their names were Bandido (Spanish for bandit) and some foreign name that meant “thief”. The names suited them well because of the black “masks” around their eyes.

Image

They had just been fed, so they were sleepy when they got to our house. Both of them fell asleep on my lap.

Image

You might just be able to make out two of them in the picture above. They’re just little bundles of sleepiness and cuteness…I’m glad for the wonderful chance we got to see them, but I wonder what will happen when they get older and not-so-cute, and a LOT more mischievous….

Image

Image

Awww….

Image

Little sleepyhead

And by the way, I was going to try and find a Bible verse that went along with raccoons, but the only one I could find was the one that says that the Israelites were not allowed to eat them….

And since that verse does not adequately sum up exactly what I was looking for, I’ll give you a different verse. 🙂 I looked on my sister’s blog (she also wrote about the raccoons), hoping for some fresh inspiration, but she didn’t write a verse down. Oh well…I hate being a copycat anyways.

But ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds in the sky, and they will tell you, or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish in the sea inform you. Which of all these does not know that the hand of the LORD has done this? In his hand is the life of every creature, and the breath of all mankind. 

~Job 12:7-10

