Happy Birthday to Colby Tyler Bergen! Even if it’s a day late…better late than never, I always say. Well, I’ve never said it, but I think it. Besides, Colby won’t be reading this, so he’ll never know.

So Colby, even though I know you’ll never see this, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! You are the brightest, sunniest little boy I know, with a true servant’s heart. I love how your eyes sparkle when you’re excited or when you’re being naughty. (Boy, it’s a good thing he’ll never be reading this.) You have a funny (if a little strange) imagination, and I love popping around a corner to find you talking to yourself. I love your precision (most of the time) and your love for learning new, exciting things. I think you’re so cute when you tell me that you love the color of my shirt that I’ve worn for two days in a row or that you like my hairdo when all I’ve been doing is sleeping on it. πŸ™‚ I like all the quotes (and misquotes) that you blurt out at the most random times. And sometimes they actually do make sense.

I can’t imagine how we ever got along without you.

The phrase “from the mouth of babes” has entered my thoughts more than once throughout this past year when I hear some of the quite sensible things coming from your mouth. πŸ™‚ But now I’m starting to realize that I should follow your example. Sometimes (but not always) the things that come out of your mouth are a lot more pleasant than the things that come out of mine. You have a natural talent for encouraging people and being a servant. I don’t, but I have a very willing teacher who is ten years younger than I am.

So, again, happy birthday, Colby! Thanks for all the smiles and laughs and cheerful moments you’ve allowed me to share with you, and thanks for brightening up many a dull, gray day.

Image

Image

Image

Image

The snake cake is in honor of the snake-hunting escapade we had several Sundays ago, which Colby was a part of.

And now, throughout the coming years, I get to have the privilege of watching Colby grow up and become more like Christ. And I will also take the golden opportunity to learn as much as I can from my willing little teacher. πŸ™‚

From the lips of children and infants You, Lord, have called forth Your praise.

~Matthew 21:16

