The heavens declare the glory of God…

…especially when you are looking at the glory of God through the window of a helicopter.

I should just quit this post right now, just to make you wonder.

But I won’t.

I’m not that mean.

I’ve been in an airplane…a long time ago. I don’t even remember it. I have never been in a helicopter. I mean, I never had been in a helicopter…

…until last night.

Yesterday we saw some signs being put up at the gas station across the street. In bold red letters, the sign loudly proclaimed: HELICOPTER RIDES

Riley, Colby, and Abby all went nuts. (They would deny this).

I tried to calm them down by being a pessimist and telling them that the rides would be much too expensive.

It didn’t work. They said that they thought the rides were free.

But hold on!!! Before you jump in your car and speed down to Aurora, Nebraska for some free helicopter rides, I’ll tell you loud and clear that these helicopter rides were NOT free. What helicopter rides are?

Since being a pessimist only dampened my own enthusiasm, I decided that these helicopter rides were worth checking into…if only to prove that I was right, and they were wrong.

We all piled in the car and Brittany followed the arrows on the signs until we came to a little grassy area right behind Family Dollar.

Brittany hopped out of the car and asked the guy in charge how much the rides cost. I didn’t hear the answer, but Brittany came straight back to the car and we drove away.

Okay, so I was right. No helicopter rides today. This was the first time I’ve ever been sorry that I was right. (Well…maybe not the first…)

Later that evening, Brittany and I were slooooooowly clearing the table and talking about how fun it would have been to go on a helicopter ride.

All of a sudden the back door slammed. And when our back door slams, everybody in the whole house hears it. The windows rattle and the walls shake, and usually all of the ruckus is made because someone is angry.

Not tonight.

Dad bounded into the kitchen. “Hey guys, anyone want to go on a helicopter ride?” His suggestion was met by a chorus of screams and shouts that shook the house even worse than the back door does when it is slammed. (My siblings would deny this, too.)

Long story short, we all piled into the suburban and drove back to Family Dollar where we got to watch the helicopter land. And when we saw it take off again, zooming low at first across the grass, and then get higher and higher in the air, we all knew that we wanted a ride.

It was $40 a person for a 10-13 mile ride around Aurora. The price isn’t that bad compared to other helicopter rides, especially when Dad reminded us that we’d probably never get a chance to ride in a helicopter again.

It also helped that our uncle had given us some money for Christmas to be used for a family outing. Considering that everyone in the family except for Mom and Dad rode on that helicopter (not all at once, of course), it definitely counted as a family outing.

And it was fun. We got to circle around our house, fly over the neighbor’s field, and see our friends’ houses, our church, the museum, the gas station, the football field (it’s pretty hard to miss that!), the hospital, and the fair grounds. We got to fly over the highway coming into Aurora, and I couldn’t help but notice how patchy the road looked from the air. 🙂

They say the fields look like a quilt from the air…

I say that the road looks like a quilt with LOTS of oddly shaped squares. But that’s just my opinion.

And the view wasn’t all patchy concrete. There were fields, and skies, and clouds, and birds. Even though we weren’t in the air at the right time to see it, the sunset was absolutely gorgeous. Even from the ground. If God can make something as cool as the awesome sunset we saw that night, I can’t wait to go to heaven and see more of his handiwork.

The heavens declare the glory of God. And the glory of God was never more evident than it was last night.

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. They have no speech, they use no words; no sound is heard from them. Yet their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.

~Psalm 19:1-4

